MTV’s TRL is Coming Back to Canada

0

watch trl canada

Canadians will be able to watch Total Request Live when the iconic MTV series returns next month. MTV in Canada will broadcast TRL daily (time still to be determined) beginning Monday, October 2. Update Sept. 20: TRL will air weekdays from 3:30 p.m. to 4:30 p.m. ET.

The series which ran from 1998 to 2008 and was hosted by Caron Daly was officially revived by MTV U.S.’s new president Chris McCarthy back on July 30. The series will be filmed at a now “larger-than-ever” Times Square studio in New York City and will feature five rotating hosts: Amy Pham, D.C. Young Fly, Erik Zachary, Lawrence Jackson, and Tamara Dhia. Eva Gutowski, Gabbie Hanna and Gigi Gorgeous will serve as TRL’s social media correspondents.

In additional to TRL, MTV in Canada will also broadcast the revival of MTV Unplugged beginning with Canadian singer/songwriter Shawn Mendes. The first hour-long installment (since 2014) was tapped at the Theatre at Ace Hotel in Los Angeles and will air this Friday, September 8 at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT.

The ‘90s nostalgia continues with the new series 90’s House, which pits 12 millennial housemates in a ‘90s inspired house which forces them to officially unplug their modern-day devices and “party like it’s 1990” with only the technology, catchphrases and fashion from that decade. Each episode will see opponents face elimination by competing in various ‘90s themed challenges. The winner walks away with $90K (U.S.), a Mazda Miata and tickets for two on board the Ship-Hope I Love the ‘90s Cruise. Christina Milian and Lance Bass will host the series, while the reality series will also feature appearances by Mario Lopez, Tatyana Ali, Michelle Williams (we’re assumed that of Destiny’s Child fame and not Dawson’s Creek), Joey Fatone, Marques Houston, Tyson Beckford, Salt N’ Pepa, Kid N’ Play, Bill Bellamy, Joey Lawrence, Kel Mitchell and Lori Beth Denberg. 90’s House will premiere on Thursday, September 8 at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT.

As if all this weren’t enough, MTV will air Friends back-to-back weeknights at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT and 8:30 p.m. ET/5:30 p.m. PT.

Share.

About Author

Jeevan Brar is a digital content producer and freelance entertainment writer based in Toronto. Jeevan has managed The TV Watercooler since 2008, the Canadian blog has focused on daytime soaps, primetime hits and reality TV guilty pleasures. The blog has also connected Canadian soap fans with exclusive interviews with the cast of enduring daytime dramas The Young and the Restless, Days of our Lives, General Hospital and The Bold and the Beautiful. 'Like' The TV Watercooler on Facebook. You can also follow Jeevan on Twitter and Google+.

Leave A Reply

Captcha: * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.